Robots as Colleagues –  how „proANT 436“ became „Fritzchen“

Fritzchen, Robo, Jürgen, Sam und James –these are the names of the new colleagues at VACOM’s production plant. They got them from their team mates, because the five hard-working transport assistants are no humans, but  proANT 436 transport robots by ASTI InSystems. Their implementation in the fleet is a good example of how the robot integration in a human team can succeed. The robot fleet was introduced in a social, more human way, so that acceptance was higher.

The proANT Fleet at VACOM

In order to stay competitive and innovative implementing Industry 4.0 technologies, VACOM commissioned ASTI InSystems to install an intelligent transport system in its new plant in Thuringia. The transport solution designed by ASTI InSystems consists of a fleet of five proANT 436 and one proANT 576 robots, which not only transport assembly parts but also communicate with the transport control system, react  to their environment in a smart way and thus contribute to a more comfortable and safer working environment for their human colleagues. This makes them an important part of the Smart Factory – but for the VACOM team, they have more value than their technical features. On Facebook, VACOM writes: “Our five transport robots are like employees to us. So of course they also deserve names! And after an internal survey, the five proANT 436 were named Fritzchen, Robo, Jürgen, Sam and James. But why actually?

Why do we treat robots like humans?

This trend has probably its evolutionary origin in anthropomorphism. This term describes the attribution of human features to non-human beings or objects. It is something we do often (especially good to observe when dealing for example with pets), and probably common since early human history. The theory of many psychologists is that, for early humans, anthropomorphism was a key to help them better understanding the world around them. In fact, if we think that an interaction partner is like us, we have a clear framework to deal with him/her. We are human, and if we assume as a basic rule that others beings also have human features, we can understand them better, act effectively and interact better with them. In social interaction with other people this strategy may have been so effective that we now apply it to everything that can interact with us as a standard response. Not only that – we may also feel safer if we can apply this process. This is because we are less afraid of what we understand.

Of course, this assumption is wrong. A robot is no human, and our pets are also no humans either. Unlike dogs or cats, however, we can make our robots as human-like as possible – the more familiar they are to us, the better we should be able to understand them, at least theoretically, and thus integrate them into our everyday lives.

Examples of robots humanization

How do we translate this knowledge into reality? Research and development should keep it in mind, in order to design user-friendly robots. In the industry, introducing new installed robots in a positive way to their team mates increases the acceptance. The final goal is, that humans see the robots as a help, otherwise integration might fail. VACOM’s approach is successful, because it enables employees to get to know the robots in a fun way and to integrate them in a social setting, not only in the product manufacturing flow but also in the team community. We will analyse this process in further articles about the social integration of robots, and then present some practical tips to facilitate this integration. We will also take a closer look at why the VACOM fleet was actually only christened with male names, we will explore why this is more common (with the exception of our ‘Gisela’ at Knorr), and which meaning gender has in robotics.

 

Summarized: It is normal for us to humanize robots and we cannot avoid it. We can see it as an opportunity which contributes to the acceptance of robots, so that it will help ensuring a smooth cooperation between humans and robots.

Further Links

Our original report to the VACOM project:

VACOM uses proANT transport robots

proANT specifications

Further literature about this topic, and which complications have to be considered in the humanization of robots:

Anthropomorphism and the Social Robot (Brian R. Duffy, 2003): https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/S0921889002003743

Anthropomorphism in Human–Robot Co-evolution (Luisa Damiano, Paul Dumouchel, 2018): https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fpsyg.2018.00468/full

Company from the Uncanny Valley: A Psychological Perspective on Social Robots, Anthropomorphism and the Introduction of Robots to Society (Janina Luise Samuel, 2019) https://repozytorium.amu.edu.pl/handle/10593/25192

Roboter als Kollegen –  wie aus einem „proANT 436“ ein „Fritzchen“ wird

Fritzchen, Robo, Jürgen, Sam und James – so heißen die neuen Kollegen in einer der Produktionsanlagen von VACOM. Ihre Namen erhielten sie von ihren Mitarbeitern, denn bei den fünf fleißigen Transporthelfern handelt es sich nicht um Menschen, sondern um proANT 436 Transportroboter von ASTI InSystems. Die Integration dieser Flotte ist ein gutes Beispiel dafür, wie die Einführung von Robotern in ein menschliches Team positiv gelingen kann. Hier wurde die Roboterflotte sozial integriert, „menschlicher“ und daher liebenswerter gemacht.

Die proANT Flotte bei VACOM

Um mit dem Voranschreiten der Industrie 4.0 modern und innovativ zu bleiben, beauftragte VACOM ASTI InSystems mit der Installation eines intelligenten Transportsystems in ihrer neuen Anlage in Thüringen. Die von ASTI InSystems realisierte Transportlösung besteht aus einer Flotte von fünf proANT 436 und einem proANT 576. Diese Roboter transportieren nicht nur Montageteile, sondern kommunizieren auch mit dem Transportleitsystem, reagieren intelligent auf ihre Umgebung und tragen so zu einer komfortableren und sichereren Arbeitsumgebung für die menschlichen Mitarbeiter bei. Damit sind sie ein wichtiger Teil der Smart Factory – doch für das VACOM-Team steckt noch mehr in den Robotern als nur rein technische Funktionalität. Auf Facebook verkündet VACOM: „Unsere fünf Transportroboter sind für uns wie Mitarbeiter. Also verdienen sie natürlich auch Namen!“ Und nach einer internen Umfrage wurden die fünf proANT 436 kurzum auf Fritzchen, Robo, Jürgen, Sam und James getauft. Aber warum eigentlich?

Warum vermenschlichen wir Roboter?

Diese Tendenz hat wahrscheinlich seinen evolutionären Ursprung im Anthropomorphismus. Dieser Begriff steht für das Zuschreiben von menschlichen Charakteristiken zu nichtmenschlichen Lebewesen oder Gegenständen. Es ist etwas, das wir oft tun (besonders gut im Umgang z.B. mit Haustieren zu beobachten), und stammt vermutlich aus der frühen Menschheitsgeschichte. Die Theorie vieler Psychologen ist, dass für frühe Menschen Anthropomorphismus ein Überlebensvorteil war, der ihnen half, die Welt um sie herum besser zu verstehen. Denn wenn wir davon ausgehen, dass ein Interaktionspartner wie wir ist, dann haben wir einen klaren Rahmen, in dem wir ihn verstehen können. Wir sind Mensch, und wenn wir als Grundbasis annehmen, dass andere ebenfalls menschliche Attribute besitzen, können wir sie besser verstehen und damit effektiv (ver-)handeln. Im sozialen Umgang mit anderen Menschen war diese Strategie möglicherweise so effektiv, dass wir sie nun auf alles, das mit uns interagieren kann, als Standardreaktion übertragen. Nicht nur das – wir fühlen uns möglicherweise auch sicherer, wenn wir diesen Prozess anwenden können. Denn was wir intuitiv verstehen, macht weniger Angst.

Natürlich ist diese Annahme fehlerhaft. Ein Roboter ist kein Mensch, genauso wie auch unsere Haustiere keine Menschen sind. Anders als Hund oder Katze können wir unsere Roboter aber so menschlich nachvollziehbar wie möglich machen – je vertrauter sie uns sind, desto besser sollten wir sie, theoretisch zumindest, verstehen und somit in unseren Alltag integrieren können.

Roboter-Vermenschlichung in der Praxis

Wie nutzt dieses Wissen nun praktisch? In der Forschung und Entwicklung ist es wichtig, dies im Auge zu behalten, um zum Beispiel bestmögliche Benutzerfreundlichkeit zu erwirken. In der Industrie bietet es einen Zugang, neu installierte Roboter positiv den Kollegen vorzustellen. Immerhin sollen die neuen Maschinen als Helfer wahr- und angenommen werden, ansonsten wird der Roboter vermutlich nicht ideal integriert. VACOMs Ansatz ist perfekt: er erlaubt den Menschen, die Roboter mit Spaß kennenzulernen und in einem sozialen Rahmen nicht nur in den Produktfertigungsfluss, sondern auch in das Team-Verständnis aufzunehmen. Wir untersuchen dies in kommenden Beiträgen zum Thema soziale Integration von Robotern genauer und stellen dann ein paar praktische Tipps zur Förderung dieser Integration vor. Wir werden uns außerdem genauer ansehen, warum die VACOM-Flotte eigentlich nur mit männlichen Namen getauft wurde, warum so etwas häufiger vorkommt und welche Rolle Gender in der Robotik spielt.

Zusammengefasst: Wir können oft kaum anders, als Roboter zu vermenschlichen. Wird dies als Chance wahrgenommen und ein darauf basierendes positives Verständnis eines Roboters gefördert, lässt sich dazu beitragen, ein reibungsloses Zusammenarbeiten von Menschen und Robotern zu unterstützen.

Weiterführende Links

Unser Originalbericht zum VACOM-Auftrag:

https://www.asti-insystems.de/vacom-setzt-auf-proant-transportroboter/

Ausführlicher Anwendungsbericht:

https://proant.de/anwendung/proant-436-und-proant-576-in-der-metallfertigung/

proANT-Spezifikationen

https://proant.de/

Weiterführende Literatur zum Thema, und welche Komplikationen in der Vermenschlichung von Robotern zu beachten sind:

Anthropomorphism and the Social Robot (Brian R. Duffy, 2003): https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/S0921889002003743

Anthropomorphism in Human–Robot Co-evolution (Luisa Damiano, Paul Dumouchel, 2018): https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fpsyg.2018.00468/full

Company from the Uncanny Valley: A Psychological Perspective on Social Robots, Anthropomorphism and the Introduction of Robots to Society (Janina Luise Samuel, 2019) https://repozytorium.amu.edu.pl/handle/10593/25192